top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChris Hanley

Kabini: My Favorite Indian Vacation

Kabini is quite unique geographically, for the Kabini River separates the states of Kerala and Karnataka. However, the city itself is actually located in Karnataka, where Bangalore is also located. Moving forward, Kabini is an amazing vacation destination that I would highly recommend to anyone. Formerly known as a private British hunting ground, Kabini encompasses lush greenery and a variety of animals. It is definitely a vacation for those who are interested in scenery. To clarify, I stayed at a resort in Orange County there.

My family and I standing near the resort

Kabini is known for its large population of elephants and diverse bird species. It also has leopards, panthers, sambar deer, monkeys, gaur, sloth bears, spotted deer, chitals, antelopes, crocodiles, and wild dogs. For my dad and me, this was a dream because we watched a lot of nature shows, such as National Geographic, back then. In order to capture these sights, I would suggest booking a safari ride, which is what my family did. Here are some photos of animals we spotted while on the safari:


A black bird, not too sure about the type

Gaur, also referred to as Indian bison

Wild dogs

Asian elephants

Although we did not get photos of it, my family and I actually spotted a tiger. This was a breathtaking experience because not many people get to see a tiger in the wilderness. Interestingly enough, the tiger was a black Bengal tiger, which actually isn't too rare in India.



These animals are very beautiful, but it is also important to remember that there is a large danger element. Be wary of your own safety and if you will be fully protected, especially on the safaris. My family and I went on a water safari as well, and it wasn't very safe. We rode around in a small, dubious boat and encountered many crocodiles. Thankfully we came out in one piece.



Besides viewing the various flora and fauna, another part of Kabini that interested me was the lifestyle of the people.


A man walking with oxen near his farm

The majority of them lived a rural, independent life without the help of machines. This was very different from Bangalore because I was surrounded by technology and there were areas to suite my basic needs, such as grocery stores. In Kabini, for example, the people we saw did not use tractors to plow their fields and took care of their own animals. Here are more photos that we took:


A man walking with his goats

A woman carrying sticks

Children hanging out in their village

Overall, my vacation in Kabini was a very enjoyable experience. If I ever end up traveling to India again, hopefully I can stop by and appreciate its magnificence.


My brothers and I riding in a cart at the resort

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page